POEM 006/100

The first few dozen times we broke up

I would cry

boy, would I cry

and she would silently judge me

relieved to no longer be lumbered

with a boy who’d cry at anything

as pedestrian

as rejection

 

Years later

like an irritating joke

the spark of delight faded

from its all too familiar punchline

I would not cry

 

Years later still

when she began to cry

I lost all interest

2 Responses to POEM 006/100

  1. mrdapper says:

    I still have nightmares about her.

  2. Unsurprisingly, I love this.

Leave a Reply

