Three crappy things to start the year

» Last night I came home to find the power supply for my modem had blown up. Or, less dramatically, quietly stopped working, leaving but a slight whiff of burnt electronics in the air. After a relatively short time on the phone with Bell—they suspiciously knew exactly what had happened— they agreed to Purolate a new one to me. It will arrive withing two business days. Since tomorrow is a holiday, then it’s the weekend, this means it’ll maybe monday before I have internet at my house again. Why not just pick a new one up at the Bell store? That’s why they have Bell stores in malls, right? Well, you can’t pick up replacement adaptors at Bell stores anymore. They discontinued that service “months ago” apparently. I wonder if it’s because they couldn’t keep them in stock.

» I purchased my first TTC monthly pass reflecting the fare increase. I’m at a point in my life where the $12 increase doesn’t really affect me. There’s a vague “you bastards” floating around in the back of my head (as I have no choice but to use TTC) but until the monthly pass starts creeping up to the $200 mark, it’s one of those annoyances I can willfully ignore. Or I could if they didn’t raise the fare to an utterly annoying $121. It would have been so much more convenient if they’d only raised it $11 so you could take $120 out of the bank machine and plonk it down with no hassle. Now I’ll have to do that and make sure I have a loonie on me as well. Thinking about that just makes me want to punch someone in the face.

» There was a gang-related shooting about a block from my house. Actually about 20-feet from where Mandi parks her car when she stays overnight (my street requires a permit). In my neighborhood there’s actually a right side (south) and wrong side (north) of the tracks. Though this shooting took place on the right side, these guys came from the wrong side. It seems the victim thought he could stand up and push the bad element a little further north. It seems he was wrong.

One Response to Three crappy things to start the year

  1. The X says:

    the last time someone posted comments to your blog was in November. I thought i would be a good little X and start the new year off with a random comment about nothing. Thus.

Leave a Reply

