NOvember™ close + year in review

» NOvember™ is now over, just in time for my birthday celebrations (tonight). Technically, NOvember™ ended around 7pm last night when we met our friend Tom for a beer at a local watering hole. I didn’t have a problem shaving a few hours off the tail end of NOvember™ because Tom was only in town for the weekend (for an art event in which he had a performance piece) and I was excited to see him. What’s a few hours off the top of my willpower anyway?

I was surprised how little the pint of Wellington Dark and two pints of Cobblestone Stout affected me. I expected to be under the table after one. I, however, wasn’t surprised the Cobblestone had the unpleasantly sharp tang all Mill Street Brewery beers have. I think I might be turning into one of those douches who refuses to drink anything other than Guinness.

The real reason I didn’t have a problem caving-in at the 11th hour of NOvember™ is it really wasn’t a cave-in at all. If it weren’t for Tom’s visit, I wouldn’t have had a problem going the distance. And if it weren’t the pan-denominational festival of socially enforced gluttony approaching, I think I would have merrily continued on my abstemious way (thank you for the word Robert). A weird thing happened at about the three-week mark, I absolutely stopped craving everything I’d given up. The idea of eating or drinking any of that crap seemed, actually, absurd.

Still, not going out for a drink with a friend would have been even more absurd. It’s all about balance. Though, perhaps, three pints isn’t really much of a balance.

I’m not sure if I’ll observe NOvember™ next year. It’ll depend on how much I indulge myself during Spocktober™—which I’m most definitely going to observe (though I’m not sure exactly what it’s going to entail).

» As mentioned above, it’s my 37th birthday. It occurs to me it’s been quite an eventful year, though quietly so. Some highlights:

  • Mandi. I seem to have finally found a woman who wants to stick around for the long haul plus I’m actually happy about that. I bet nobody saw that coming.
  • Nerd Hurdles. I seem to have finally produced something which resonates with people. Though that is, I believe, mostly to due to Mandi’s involvement. Just think. All those years I wasted on music, writing, and art, it was podcasting I was destined to shine brightest at. Who knew? Well, no one could know because even a few years ago podcasting didn’t exist. Now we’re on the Simply Syndicated network and things continue to look up. That is, more people and not less are tuning in every month.
  • I started painting again. Sort of. I guess I’ve painted a whole four pictures this year. Two were presents and two are hanging up in my apartment. One, The Caffienist, I made into greeting cards which sold quite well at Canzine this year. The other is to the right (The Lonely Woodsman. Click on it ro enlarge).
  • I grew a beard and stopped cutting my hair.
  • I “came out” about my bisexuality mistakenly thinking everyone knew already. I assumed no one would care and no one did. It certainly didn’t get as much coverage as when Fergie made the same claim. A story I was much more excited about when I thought they meant Sarah Ferguson. I’m still disappointed about that.
  • I read the Harry Potter books. All of them. Something I said I’d never do.
  • I started Tweeting. In. Several. Places. Something else I said I’d never do.
  • I went to three weddings. The first was the best.
  • I started writing music reviews for Simply Read.
  • I made some proper (not Windows Movie Maker) short films. By “some” I mean two. And by “short” I mean short.
  • That is about it. Let me know if I forgot anything.
5 Responses to NOvember™ close + year in review

  1. Tony Pucci says:

    Wasn’t The Urbane Decay’s “One True Soul” from 2009? That CD is outstanding. Sorta have a soft spot for RvHM as well.

    • mrdapper says:

      Oh, good point. “Chinese Astrology” was a good single that never got any airplay. I’m most proud of Moonwood’s “Aubade” as well. Kind of forgot about the music stuff.

  2. Rob says:

    Why not patch some Urban Decay at the end of a Nerd Hurdles show ? I’m sure some of the listeners would like to hear what your music is like . You can even say that it wasn’t your idea 😀

  3. Nicole Gauthier says:

    So. You came out. Did i call that, or what?

Leave a Reply

