Garbage striken

Toronto is heading into a summer garbage strike. I’m not too concerned as I don’t actually create a lot of garbage. Unlike the families of four on my street who seem to accumulate the equivalent of six months of my own refuse every two weeks. Most of my garbage is recycling and much of that is bottles which will still be collected — though not by city employees but by bottle-collecting entrepreneurs.

I can’t help hoping that if the strike drags on, perhaps it will encourage people to consume less overly packaged food. Perhaps they will buy more fresh produce and bulk foods. That would be a positive side-effect. I suspect it’s more likely the semi-vacant train yards near my place will become makeshift dumping sites.

Leave a Reply

