Courtship + divas

~  I may have gotten hired as a creative director yesterday. I’m not sure though. I’ve noticed in Toronto phrases like “We’ll definitely call you” sometimes mean they stop taking your calls and responding to your emails. Looking for work here is somewhat like playing the bar scene. So even though I’ve gotten what seems like a committed suitor, I’m going to be a bit of a slut and go for an interview at the Ministry of Environment tomorrow. I think the government job would suit my lifestyle better, but it’s a 3-to-4 month contract (with possibility of a permanent placement) as opposed to a supposedly permanent upwardly mobile position with an upstart company. 

~ The other day Nicole explained to me, with a stark lack of irony, the initial necessity for Mariah Carey was that there was “not enough Whitney Houston.” And all this time I thought there was more than enough. 

Leave a Reply

