Plogging + TV

~  Seems doing a zine in Toronto is a hard business. So far I’ve found only two places to carry PlogPages Books & Magazines and Rotate This, both on Queen Street West. That’s not a lot of coverage. The guys at Pandemonium (don’t carry zines but) suggested I try a near-by coffee shop which leads me to think I’ll have to try a few other coffee shops as outlets. “Good luck trying to find a zine in this city,” he says.  I also left a few in empty racks at TTC stations. No wonder people put their zines online and started writing blogs. 

~ Bell Canada just called and tried to get us to sign up for TV service. To preempt the sales pitch I told her we don’t own a TV. She said, “Wow. What do you do?” I said, “Read.” She said, “Well, that sounds like fun,” and thenYou’re going to need a TV for the winter. It gets pretty boring in the winter.” I said, “We haven’t discussed it yet.” She said, “Ohhhh-kaaaay.” Then launched into the sales pitch just in case we buy a TV.

7 Responses to Plogging + TV

  1. aporia says:

    you’ve gotta be kidding me

    Dude, fucking Broken Pencil is based in TO. And last weekend they held Canada’s largest zine festival.

    A preliminary search to get you started:

    Toronto Zine Library
    http://torontozinelibrary.blogspot.com/

    Great Worm Distro
    greatworm.ca

    Toronto Zine Scene
    http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/online/downlo/indie/jforhan.htm

    Uprising Books
    http://www.uprising.ca/
    (they don’t have a website yet but I bet you they carry zines with a name like that)

    • aporia says:

      Re: you’ve gotta be kidding me

      sorry, i should’ve included this link:
      http://www.brokenpencil.com/

      • mrdapper says:

        Re: you’ve gotta be kidding me

        Yeah, I’d already seen the Broken Pencil site. I just missed their big thing by a few days. Ooops. I sent them an email asking where all the zines they cover are actually distributed but they never got back to me.

        I was under the impression Uprising was a Rasta store. For seers.

      • aporia says:

        Re: you’ve gotta be kidding me

        well you should submit your zine for them to review and include a note explaining you’re new to toronto and would like recommendations on where all the zine action is happening.

      • mrdapper says:

        Re: you’ve gotta be kidding me

        I should do that. I’ve been meaning to. The backlog of things I need to send out to various places is getting astounding.

      • aporia says:

        Re: you’ve gotta be kidding me

        but i’d suspect the links above have all the info they’d give you anyway.

    • mrdapper says:

      Re: you’ve gotta be kidding me

      The zine library link was a good one. thanks! (funny how when I googled Toronto + zine, it didn’t come up… hmmm)

Leave a Reply

