Flatbed of rice

~ Last night Elle J made Mike T and I sushi. The final payment for the T-shirt design. It was very tasty. I hadn’t tried sushi with yams in it before, because that sounds crazy to me, but it was good. Some day I may actually spend some time learning how to use chopsticks properly. What a disaster. 

33 Responses to Flatbed of rice

  1. sophitchka says:

    Yam + Pepita + Chipotle Quesadilla = Heaven in tortilla form. It’s at ReBar.

  2. sophitchka says:

    Yam + Pepita + Chipotle Quesadilla = Heaven in tortilla form. It’s at ReBar.

  3. cokenail says:

    deepfry that yam and now you got something good

  4. cokenail says:

    deepfry that yam and now you got something good

  5. mrdapper says:

    I’m not sure I’m comfortable with the idea of yams and chipotle.

  6. mrdapper says:

    i wonder if pirate chips has thought of that.

  7. I don’t like the idea of yam in sushi. Not one bit.

  8. I don’t like the idea of yam in sushi. Not one bit.

  9. ms_dirtnap says:

    Tempura yam roll is a vegetarian sushi standby.

  10. ms_dirtnap says:

    Tempura yam roll is a vegetarian sushi standby.

  11. mrdapper says:

    me neither and yet. and yet. it was vegan sushi though so… was it even sushi? lets call it “tasty yam/rice balls.”

  12. mrdapper says:

    yeah, apparently yams are taking over the world. quietly. so as i didn’t notice. but be warned yams… i’m onto you. now.

  13. aporia says:

    one time mel made me dinner and the yams blew my mind

  14. aporia says:

    one time mel made me dinner and the yams blew my mind

  15. atrophe says:

    When in Brooklyn I had volcano roll sushi, which was tuna, shrimp tempura, and banana. Sooooo good.

  16. ghosty_toast says:

    $3 tempura yam rolls are what keep a minimum wage girl fed, my friend.

  17. nathandrama says:

    i personally HATE sushi. can’t stand it. i hate seaweed and i hate how the rice is all mushy.
    but i have to tell you jakob. YAMS took over along time ago.
    cuz they are the best.
    especially deep fried with CHIPOLTE pesto to dip them in.
    for serious

    • sophitchka says:

      That’s the idea. Yams and chipotle.

      • mrdapper says:

        you people are all insane.

        first it was everyone trying to convince me mushrooms aren’t creepy and gross. now it’s yams.

        actually, i never thought yams were gross. i guess i never really thought about yams at all. still skeptical about the yams/chipotle mix though, guys.

      • Anonymous says:

        You’re missing out. The smoky robustness of the chipotle stands up well to the richness and texture of the yam. Not to mention the stimulating colour. A delight to the palate.

      • aporia says:

        yam/chipotle sounds like a no-brainer hit to me

      • mrdapper says:

        i just need time to assimilate this information. i’m just getting used to the concept of yams.

Leave a Reply

