V-Day

~ So far Valentine’s Day is not half tragic. I think everyone should be in relationship limbo on Valentine’s Day. As Bob said, no woman, no cry. I think the song is about something else entirely (like telling his wife to stop her blubbering after he backhanded her), but I always took it to be like a romance  “no castles, no hassles” aphorism. I should look the lyrics up online.

~ I got a valentine from Bonnie Raitt. She sent me cupcakes in a cute little heart-covered chinese take-out box. They were clearly so saturated with red dye they were highly carcinogenic, but I didn’t care — tasty dinner. Thanks Bonnie!

SINCE 2007 STARTED.

1. Have you had a gf/bf?: A Girlfriend/Boyfriend? Like a dual-action tooth-brush but in hermaphrodite lover form? No. Not even a standard issue g/f or b/f

2. Have you had your birthday? Not for another several glorious months.

3. Been to church?: I saw a documentary on church burnings.

4. Cried yet?: Less than by this time last year.

5. Had sex?: I think I maybe touched a girl’s hand.

6. Had someone close to you pass away?: Not that I’m aware of. So if they did, I’m a total prick.

7. Pulled an all nighter?: Insert juvenile masturbation joke here.

8. Drank starbucks?: Once or thrice.

9. Gone shopping?: Oh man, that’s why my fridge is empty. Buy Nothing Year isn’t working out so well.

10. Gone to the movies?: Yep. Pan’s Labyrinth. Awesome! (That was the answer from the previous surveyist, but I think it’s the only movie I’ve seen this year.) Oh, and the VISFF, of course.

11. Been to the beach? There was talk of doing the Polar Bear Swim which I ignored.

12. Bought something for over $200: Not one item. I’ve spent that much on various online items like specialty CD packaging / blank CD-Rs, etc.

13. Met someone new?: There was like a 12 year old at my party I met.

14. Been out of your home state?: I went to the state of rambling drunk last friday.

15. Gone snowboarding?: No.

{In The Past Month…}

1. Kissed someone?: I think I kissed my cat on the top of her head and immediately realized how unsanitary that is.

2. Slept in a friend’s bed: I consider myself a friend.

3. Snuck someone over?: The Russian Spy, past Gertie.

4. Snuck out of your own house?: No. I can come and go as I please.

5. Been in a bar?: Just the Oxy, I think.

6. Lied?: I like to think of it as “selectively highlighted aspects of the truth”

7. Gotten a car?: I still don’t understand the concept.

8. Gone over your cell phone bill?: n/a Went over my housephone bill though.

9. Been called a dick: Or some variant. 

10. Drove somewhere?: Almost everyday.

11. Done something you regret?: Oh, if I was going back in time, I’d probably change my setlist from friday night.

{Last’s..}

Things you bought lately?: Bolan / Food / Bolan / Postage / Bolan

Person you hugged?: I think… Marie. To Ken’s either shock or displeasure.

Person to call you?: My mom. 

Last time you took a bubble bath?: Early in the year I used this bath bomb I’d been given. It was bubbly.

When was the last time you felt stupid?: Saturday morning.

When was the last time you walked/ran over a mile?: I actually have no conception of long a mile is. Or a Km either. Not able to judge distances over about 12 feet.

Who was the last person who saw you cry?: Maybe my cat. Otherwise Chelsea about a year ago.

Who was the last person you danced with? Some group of swell people at 70 Below I imagine.

Who did u last yell at?: Mel. At the Oxy friday night.

Who last told you they loved you? My cat.

Who makes you laugh the most?: Elmhurst

What are you listening to right now?: Haha. Babel 4-trk recordings.

What did you do yesterday?: Work. Then got a little tight on beer and made Babel 4-trk recordings and forgot to write out Tao stuff for Tracy. Oops!

2 Responses to V-Day

  1. ms_dirtnap says:

    Actually, I just read Rita Marley’s auobiography, and I think the song refers to when Bob had had his fifth kid with another woman, and it too was given to Rita to raise, along with the five that were born to her.

  2. ms_dirtnap says:

    Actually, I just read Rita Marley’s auobiography, and I think the song refers to when Bob had had his fifth kid with another woman, and it too was given to Rita to raise, along with the five that were born to her.

Leave a Reply

