Picture show

~ I arrived to work to find presents on my desk. From Justina (the receptionist). This kind of blows my mind. 

~ On my lunch breaks, if I’m not running to the post office, I go to my new favourite spot. Which is pictured above. It makes me feel like I’m in Narnia and not the middle of a semi-industrial sector. There’s lots of ducks there too.

~ Stephen‘s new look is amazing. I wonder if he still has it. I hope so. It’s like Lemmy and Ferris Bueller got fused. Speaking of Lemmy, I watched Metal: A Headbanger’s Journey. I was disappointed at Sam Dunn‘s lack of depth in studying the metal phenomenon. Yeah yeah speaking to marginalized youths giving them a sense of community and individual power they find lacking in mainstream society… hardly a new insight. I thought he really skimmed the surface of a potentially interesting topic — and a surface that’d been skimmed by every MTV / Much Music Spotlight ever done on a metal band at that. But I suppose he was making a film for people who’d never been metalheads as opposed to people who’d already studied the whole metal thing from the inside out in their youth — arguably 85% of the people who are going to watch the film.

What’s the first thing you do when waking up in the morning?
Wonder how many surveys I’m going to fill out instead of doing work.

Do you prefer a shower or bath?
Depends on my objective.

How many times a day do you brush your teeth?
Sadly, only once usually. Sometimes twice.

How often do you find yourself thinking about your ex?
Which ex? I read Chelsea’s blog all the time. I hadn’t thought about Petra for a long time until the film festival though. And Tikki not for years until I saw her brother at the 23rd show.

What kind of cell phone do you have?
n/a — I actually kind of think these surveys are created and tracked by cell-phone companies.

What would you do with a 10 bill you found on the ground?
Put it in my wallet.

What would you do with your significant other if you knew today was your last day with them?
Are they moving away? Are we breaking up because they are cheating scum? Is the world ending? I need more information.

Have you said “I love you” today?
No. Except by the action of feeding my cat.

What’s one thing you actually remember about kindergarten?
Being “framed” for breaking something by Amber Allen.

Did you cry at your graduation or smile because you were glad it was over?
Grimmaced at the ridiculousness of it all.

Are you closer with your mom or dad?
I’m equally aloof yet chummy with both.

Do you prefer the tanning bed or the sun?
AVOID ALL U.V. YOU FOOLS!

Is chocolate really better than sex?
I’ve never had sex with chocolate.

What’s 2 of your favorite movies?
Powaqatsi, Koyannisqatsi

What’s the last thing you think about before going to sleep at night?
Why didn’t I go to bed earlier??”

What would you do if your best friend jumped on your ex the day after you two split?
Wish him luck. He’s going to need it. (depending on the ex).

How many rumors have you heard about yourself?
Not nearly enough.

Which one did you find to be the funniest?
Mel and I dating was the best. Hahahaha.

Does your life seem to revolve around drama?
I’ve been accused of instigating drama just to have material to write songs about which is completely… well, it’s probably entirely true.

What’s a nickname you go by?
Ponyboy Snackwell

How do you calm down when your extremely angry?
I embrace it and transmute it into a positive force with the power of mindfulness.

Do you prefer to work hard or hardly work?
I need to be busy all the time. But on personal projects, unfortunately not work projects. Egads.

What are 3 places you want to see in the world?
Iceland, Sweden, and where my family is from in the former Yugoslavia.

A movie or a long walk in the park on the first date?
Movie is a stupid first date. Because how can you get to know someone at a place you’re not supposed to talk in? Unless you plan on getting coffee afterwards. Which might be a good plan because then at least you have the movie to talk about if nothing else.

What are 3 of the first things you notice about the opposite sex?
Gender, social class, attractive/hideousness ratio

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Elsewhere. Anywhere-elsewhere.

In 10?
Probably still in fucking Nanaimo.

Do long distance relationships actually work out?
The only real one I’ve been in fell to pieces.

Ever thought you met “The One”?
I’ve met three. Of which I’ve dated zero.

What are 2 of your favorite places to eat?
Baan Thai, Bistro Taiyo

3 of your favorite places to shop?
Ditch, Maxx, Fascinating

Do you currently have a job?
Yes.

Which would you prefer…be rich and miserable, or poor and extremely happy?
Poor and miserable of course!

What’s one of your favorite TV shows?
Limey Design Faggots

Does your life revolve around drama?
My life revolves around tragic comedy.

What did you want to be when you “grew up”?
Special FX technician.

Would you ever date someone covered in tats and piercings?
Unlikely. Extremism of any sort makes me uncomfortable.

What’s your favorite perfume or cologne for the opposite sex?
Whatever that lady form the Save-On books department wears. Whoo-wee.

Do you believe the first kiss tells you everything you need to know about the relationship?
I don’t think it tells you anything about the relationship except whether the first kiss was good or bad.

Where do your hands go when kissing someone?
That depends on many factors.

Do you know who lives in a pineapple under the sea?
That sounds like the worst house idea ever.

How many showers do you take in one day?
One.

Are those better when you’ve got someone to join you?
If you enjoy shivering in near-death freezing cold because they’re hogging the water, maybe.

Would you want a house at the beach or in the mountains?
Mountains. Eventually it’ll be beach-front property.

Which would you rather have…a huge walk in shower or a jacuzzi bath tub big enough for 2?
The tub. Unless the shower was big enough to contain a waterslide.

What are 2 of your favorite colors?
Blue / Orange.

Do you look up or at your feet when you walk?
Feet. No eye contact with strangers.

What do you think about people that are extremely skinny and actually likes the way they look? 
More power to them.

Who do you prefer…Jennifer Aniston or Angelina Jolie?
Audrey Hepburn

What’s your favorite ice cream?
Whatevs.

Do you like Starbucks…or are they just overpriced?
I like the nicotine buzz you get from them.

Are you a prep or a jeans-and-t-shirt type of person?
What do “preps” look like these days? I thought they all died out in the 80’s.

What color are your eyes?
Bluish grey

Do you have glasses or contacts?
Gogs.

Ever had someone you love tell you they never want to see or talk to you again?
Yes. I think I deserved it though.

How many times has an ex just called you up when you least expect it?
Everytime an ex calls, I least expect it.

Is it love at first sight or lust?
Separating the two concepts is an overly simplistic way of looking at the problem.

Which do you want…a big extravagant wedding or a quiet intimate ceremony?
I just want someone to want to marry me.

What’s the most expensive thing you own?
I have no idea… drum kit probably. Oh, my car maybe, but I have no idea what it’s worth.

What’s the most you’ve ever spent on a pair of jeans?
$75ish

What color are your bedroom walls?
Pale greyish blue

Do you ever actually make your bed?
When I change the sheets.

How many pillows do you have to sleep with?
Do I have to sleep with? I didn’t know I was being forced to…

Do you prefer to sleep alone or with someone?
I like the idea of having someone there in the morning. But I do like to sprawl.

What is one of your pet peeves?
Her meowing and poking me with her claws.

What could you tolerate…someone who snores or a sleep walker?
I think having a sleep walker would be fun!

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done?
Recorded phone conversations and then played them on the radio.

Would you rather sky dive or bungee jump?
Go to a movie.

Ever been outside of the US?
Oh fuck! Is Canada part of the US now? When did that happen?

Ever think Texas should just be part of Mexico?
I often think Alaska, Yukon, BC, Washington, Oregon and maybe California should be it’s own country.

How much do you think your house would be worth if it was setting in the hills of California?
If it was “setting” in the hills of California? What do you mean? Which hills? If my building was located in Beverly Hills it’d have been slated for demolition decades ago.

What do you honestly think about the kids on Sweet 16?
That MTV show? They’re awesome.

Are the shows on MTV too fake?
Can a TV show ever be too fake? C’mon now? Especially an MTV show. You’re not watching it for veracity.

Do you have to have some kind of noise to fall asleep?
Music noise.

What time is it right now?
12:38

What’s your zodiac sign?
Sag

How long does it usually take you to get dressed?
30 seconds.

Do you prefer to call or text someone?
I love the phone calls.

Who is your celebrity heart-throb?
Mozart

Would you have survived 100 years ago?
I imagine so.

What do you think the world will be like in 30 years?
Warmer.

Do you have to be the center of attention?
I just am. It’s a burden. A BURDEN.

Do you save your money or spend it when you get your hands on it?
I seem to save more than spend now.

Are you a party animal or someone who prefers to stay in?
Hide in a cave.

Ever been told you are “The Life of The Party”?
I have. Which is really odd.

Did you get a new year’s kiss?
No.

What was one thing you wanted for your birthday you didn’t get?
I wished that this woman was interested in me.

Are you a happy person?
I’m content.

If money was no option…what type car would you own?
Probably just a Matrix.

Do you think you could actually survive the cost of living in California or New York?
Lots of people seem to be able to.

How many concerts have you been to?
Not that many.

What are 3 set radio stations in your vehicle right now?
Just CBC and CHLY

Do they “wear-out” good songs by over playing them?
I don’t think either ever play a song twice. Except “Monkey and Bear.” And Pins of Light plays the same damn songs every week.

What’s one thing you always said you’d never do but have done?
Break hearts.

Have you ever flat ironed your hair?
Sounds extremely painful.

What’s the most you’ve ever payed for shampoo and conditioner?
$2.50

Was it actually worth it?
All 250 pennies.

Ever been told your a flirt?
Jen Scott accused me of this just this Christmas. Which was hilarious.

What have you done that you are proud of?
Various musical things. I think “Assasin’s Widow” is pretty much perfect.

Do you go to church every Sunday?
I go to church nevery sunday.

Do you have a hidden talent?
Why hide talent? Flaunt that shit.

Are you an adrenaline junkie or someone who plays-it-safe?
Safety safe safe.

Do you like water parks?
I like the concept but not the execution.

What do you normally eat for breakfast?
Fruit + Veggie bar.

What do you think of those people that will actually pay $50 per person to eat dinner?
Are they paying the people to eat with them of paying for the food?

Ever been called a tease?
By Jen Scott.

What is one of your childhood memories?
One? I dunno. Being stung in the eye by a wasp.

Do you like to cuddle?
Sigh… YES.

Do you have an actual comforter on your bed?
No, it’s a “virtual” one. I tell ya, pixel ain’t that warm. Fuckin’ shopping channel…

Do you like the heat or cold weather?
Temperate

What was your favorite cartoon as a kid?
Scooby.

Have you ever seen a ghost?
No.

What’s the best movie you’ve seen recently?
Pan’s Labyrinth.

Ever had a huge crush on someone and never tell them?
I never tell them. I just write songs about.

Did you high school have the clicks like Mean Girls?
Not really. The rockers and preps and punks and nerds all kind of mingled.

Are you a bashful or outgoing person?
I am full of bash.

If you could change one thing about your body…would you?
Of course.

If someone held a gun to your head and asked you…”Do you believe in God?” what would you say?
“Would you kindly point that thing somewhere else?”

Would you drive 1000 miles for the one you love?
Up to 5000 miles.

What was one thing you was given as a child and still have?
Creepy music box thing.

Do you have a favorite shirt or pair of jeans you wear over and over?
I only have two pairs of jeans. One of which is almost literally too lareg to wear now.

Will you move away from your hometown any time soon?
Sadly… no…

Would you actually relocate for the one you can’t live without?
100% of course.

Does love really make you act crazy?
Totally mental.

How many texts do you send on average a month?
Zero.

Have you ever talked to a psychic?
That Calico Cat tea leaf woman.

How many kids do you want?
1.5

What’s your favorite name for a girl and boy?
boy: elijah…. girl: maria

Have you ever actually snuck out of your house?
I can’t let the cat know I’m leaving or she’ll try and black my path to the car.

How many things have you done that your parents don’t know about?
Pretty much everything I do.

Ever been taken to jail?
Only for an elementary school field trip.

Have you ever had a pen pal?
A few. I have one, sort of, right now.

What are you about to do now that this survey is over?
Go on my lunch break.

20 Responses to Picture show

  1. miss_finx says:

    REBUTTLE!

    dude he was TOTALLY making a film for peeps who know nothin about metal. that was totally the point. plus he’s from, like, Victoria, which i would say is pretty good accomplishment for an turd from Stinktoria. Plus, at my bideo store, we got all kinds of peeps renting it. ALL kinds!

    now, on to friendship (the best ship to be on)

    CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU TONIGHT! I AM COMING TO YOUR CD RELEASE THINGEE AND I WANT MY OLD ROOM BACK AND I WANT TO WEAR TUBULA LIKE A MINK! TIME TO CELEBRATE JAKOB!

  2. miss_finx says:

    REBUTTLE!

    dude he was TOTALLY making a film for peeps who know nothin about metal. that was totally the point. plus he’s from, like, Victoria, which i would say is pretty good accomplishment for an turd from Stinktoria. Plus, at my bideo store, we got all kinds of peeps renting it. ALL kinds!

    now, on to friendship (the best ship to be on)

    CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU TONIGHT! I AM COMING TO YOUR CD RELEASE THINGEE AND I WANT MY OLD ROOM BACK AND I WANT TO WEAR TUBULA LIKE A MINK! TIME TO CELEBRATE JAKOB!

  3. mrdapper says:

    Re: REBUTTLE!

    you cannot have your old room back. but you CAN wear Tubz like a mink. super looking forward to seeing you!

  4. mrdapper says:

    Re: REBUTTLE!

    i was pretty impressed he’s from victoria. i didn’t expect that. when he said “skid” I was like, whoa! Then he said he wa sfrom Victoria and I was like whoa! whoa!

  5. miss_finx says:

    Re: REBUTTLE!

    seriously me too.

  6. mollyroyal says:

    Re: REBUTTLE!

    Dude! he lives in my hood now! he ditch pootoria for t-plop. He’s the bomb, he still wears stinky old metal clothes. favorite person i have riden the street care with.

  7. mrdapper says:

    Re: REBUTTLE!

    Next time you see him, tell him I take issue with his film.

  8. where is this narnian getaway? I MUST KNOW!!!

  9. where is this narnian getaway? I MUST KNOW!!!

  10. didn’t all that italicizing take forever?

  11. didn’t all that italicizing take forever?

  12. mrdapper says:

    It’s in a marsh near Divers lake.

  13. mrdapper says:

    It was pre-formatted!

Leave a Reply

