VISFF 2007

~ The Vancouver Island Short Film Festival last night was fun.  Sara won a special honorable mention award for Best Performance in her film How to Get a Man to Love You Forever, which we joked, she was not “performing” in so much as making a documentary about herself. She was basically playing a mildly psychotic, hilghly manipulative stalker. It was Makito‘s favourite movie due to the the bleeding vagina footage. The big winner  was Android 207 [see below] which took Best Film, People’s Choice and Best Technical. Overall, the quality of all the entries was at least 75% better than last year.  Last year  had a good/bad ratio of about 1:1. This year it was more like 1:0.25.

Best Writing: How To Talk Like a Pirate.

That’s all I could find on YouTube.

~ Bentley is beginning to settle down. When I let him out his carrier on friday night, he walked around hissing at everything for about half an hour. Lamp: hiss. Chair: hiss.  Jakob: HISS. Wall: hiss. Then he changed over to yowling. Then Gertrude came in throught the window and that was some exciting drama. Later they had a tussle which seemed to sort out the dominance/power issues. Now he’s reclaimed his spot on the top of the fridge and has decided my alpaca scarf is his now best friend.

~  I might be going crazy, but I think the 7-Eleven coffee has gotten slightly better. Though I’m scared to try their Xtreme Power Blend [or whatever it is] which has ginseng and guarana and other Redbull type nonsense in it.

see_dot_rant, the bastard, tagged me with writing five damn things people don’t know about me. Which is a trouble because for the past two weeks, Marie and I have been writing these lists back and forth to each other. And so my five things have to be “five things [most] people, other than Marie, don’t know about me.”

1) In grade 12 drama I had to direct a play and it was a disaster. I couldn’t get the two leads to rehearse at all. It had a line in it that was “It isn’t even garbage intrinsic to this household” and now whenever I hear the word intrinsic I still see the Monique Spielman’s face and shiver with a slight feeling a dread.

2) My first love was Alicia Yakabowski [sp] in grade 7. She was perfection. Then she moved to San Diego. Then she came back to visit in grade 8 and was suddenly two feet taller than me. Then she moved back in grade 12, but went to the other highschool, and was a total ho bag.

3) My first “real” job was working for a portable sawmill operator named Bruce. We’d go to people’s houses and saw the trees they’d cut down down into boards for them. Due to the noise of the saw, we only could talk for 5 minutes before and after shift, and three fifteen minute breaks during the day. In one day he used the word “fuck” 36 times. That’s on top of his usage of the words “shit”, “pussy”, “bitch” and “cunt.” Also, once we were driving to a job and these two 10-12 year old girl walked in front of the truck at a stop light and he said, “Some nice teets growin’ on them young heffers.” True story.

4) I loved dodge ball with an intense passion.

5)  My mom had owl figurines  when i was a kid. We thought she liked them. She didn’t, really. But we thought she did and I bought her more every birthday and mothers’ day. Then she threw them out one year.

 

32 Responses to VISFF 2007

  1. carnivorissa says:

    ive had that conversation many times. thats how it goes with figurines. ppl see you have a thing that someone gave you and then they give you one more. the damn things multiply.

    • mrdapper says:

      Yeah, she’d been buying little owls from places she’d visited as souvenirs and then once people saw she had about 5 owls, they said, “Oh! Linda likes owls!” and then it was on. She had a bout 39 of the damn things in the kitchen window at one point.

  2. carnivorissa says:

    ive had that conversation many times. thats how it goes with figurines. ppl see you have a thing that someone gave you and then they give you one more. the damn things multiply.

  3. carnivorissa says:

    I recall a thrilling sort of fear involved in the playing of dodge ball. did you like being nailed or nailing other people?

  4. carnivorissa says:

    I recall a thrilling sort of fear involved in the playing of dodge ball. did you like being nailed or nailing other people?

  5. mrdapper says:

    Yeah, she’d been buying little owls from places she’d visited as souvenirs and then once people saw she had about 5 owls, they said, “Oh! Linda likes owls!” and then it was on. She had a bout 39 of the damn things in the kitchen window at one point.

  6. mrdapper says:

    both. the dodging and the nailing are two sides of the same coin.

  7. ms_dirtnap says:

    Your cat’s name is Gertrude! Do you ever call her Trudy?
    My friend Cora decided I should collect rose things, so she and all our other friends bought me rose cards and figures and anything for a few years. I hated them all. And my Grandma once had to warn everyone never to buy her another butterfly thing as the excess had caused her to loath something she once loved.
    That’s the main problem with obligatory gift giving. People cling to any shallow thing that would make an easy gift.

    I hated dodge ball. I couldn’t handle the pressure of hurting people and trying not to get hurt. My heart rate always went up too high. I prefered the milk run, where I could just walk with my friends.

  8. ms_dirtnap says:

    Your cat’s name is Gertrude! Do you ever call her Trudy?
    My friend Cora decided I should collect rose things, so she and all our other friends bought me rose cards and figures and anything for a few years. I hated them all. And my Grandma once had to warn everyone never to buy her another butterfly thing as the excess had caused her to loath something she once loved.
    That’s the main problem with obligatory gift giving. People cling to any shallow thing that would make an easy gift.

    I hated dodge ball. I couldn’t handle the pressure of hurting people and trying not to get hurt. My heart rate always went up too high. I prefered the milk run, where I could just walk with my friends.

  9. Did you understand what was going on in “Kamloops”? That’s the one with the assassin, and the guy with the paper bag over his head.

  10. Did you understand what was going on in “Kamloops”? That’s the one with the assassin, and the guy with the paper bag over his head.

  11. mrdapper says:

    I think the hitman was supposed to be strung-out on drugs and ends up getting himself killed by his traget because of it.

  12. mrdapper says:

    I called her Gertie. Dirty Gertie. She’s also named: Orson, Miss Muzzlepuff, Sturdy, Snazzlefrazz, Sqishy, The Kitten and Tubula.

  13. That’s disappointing.

  14. mrdapper says:

    That was my take on it. It was still more enjoyable than the well-shot horribly cliche one about the hooker.

  15. Nanaimo hookers don’t look like that anyway, so that kind of ruined it for me.

    Did you hear Makito cackle during the paper airplane one? That almost caused a disaster. A laughter disaster.

  16. cokenail says:

    that pirate film is amaxxing!

  17. cokenail says:

    that pirate film is amaxxing!

  18. mrdapper says:

    Ha! Yeah, it was very recognizable. I felt so bad for that poor woman and her unfortunate coat-hanger special fx.

  19. ratboyrich says:

    ahh, so happy that I don’t have to go to the Feb 9th to actually see all the films now.

    I worked my ass off last night to not hear people talking about Sara’s film.
    Oh well…

  20. ratboyrich says:

    ahh, so happy that I don’t have to go to the Feb 9th to actually see all the films now.

    I worked my ass off last night to not hear people talking about Sara’s film.
    Oh well…

  21. hey – you turn up on livejournal, but try as i might i can’t find you on myspace. myspace.com/sparkleskates.

  22. ratboyrich says:

    Look no further, I just added you.

Leave a Reply

