Lock, Rock and Babel

~ I can’t figure out the lock on the new washroom door here at the new office. It makes almost zero intuitive sense. I think I missed the seminar on its operation.

~ I recorded a new 4-track Babel album on the weekend. I have mixed feelings about its ridiculous Gown-ishness. Well, with a whole lot of Pins of Light falsetto singing. And a whole lot of space-echo. And copious amounts of tape-hiss. And no outright yelling.

~ Last night’s Urbane Decay rehearsal was more promising than the gong-show of a train-wreck of last week. We even got through “Bent Hearts” without looking at lyrics sheets and only one argument over who sings the line “It’s okay for friends to cuddle.” 

~  Mailed out Urbane Decay and DWE discs to campus radio across the country yesterday. Also to my favourite CBC show, Freestyle, which on my drive home last night I heard is being canceled and replaced with… seriously… ANOTHER GOD-FREAKING-DAMN JIAN GHOMESHI SHOW. That guy riles me. When he dissed Jefferson Airplane‘s super-fantastic “Rejoyce” last summer as a “terrible hippie acid flashback” and then actually apologized for playing it [because it was requested by his 14 year old guest]… it was on. I vowed to to kick that sophist’s ass someday, somehow, somewhere. And now he’s kicking my favourite show off the air to make way for more of his inane, naive, sophomoric ramblings. This, I’m afraid, actually means war.

~ And…

WHAT THE HELL??

18 Responses to Lock, Rock and Babel

  1. that website won’t work. I need an explanation.

  2. that website won’t work. I need an explanation.

  3. mrdapper says:

    I was merely commenting on the youtube amination that is somehow nanaimo related. now, i’d rather live in that nanaimo, personally.

  4. It seems like a magical place

  5. Anonymous says:

    Freestyle is terrible.

    The music they play is great but listening to the hosts makes me want to kill myself.

    Hopefully the 12 emails I sent them telling them to cancel it are the reason they pulled the plug.

    see you at the film festival

    odb

    • mrdapper says:

      Well, I hope you like your damn Jion Ghomeshi, asshole.

    • mrdapper says:

      Actually, I have the exact opposite feelings about freestyle They play crap music and I find their ridiculously staged slickly awkward banter endearing.

      • Anonymous says:

        They try sooo hard to make it sound like actual banter but its so reduculously staged that the same lines appear 2 days earlier in the promos for the show.

        I can’t take it anymore.

        It was only passable when Nick Purden was guest host.

        I really wanted them to bring back Tetsuro Shigamatsu, best afternoon CBC host ever.

        odb

  6. Anonymous says:

    Freestyle is terrible.

    The music they play is great but listening to the hosts makes me want to kill myself.

    Hopefully the 12 emails I sent them telling them to cancel it are the reason they pulled the plug.

    see you at the film festival

    odb

  7. mrdapper says:

    Well, I hope you like your damn Jion Ghomeshi, asshole.

  8. mrdapper says:

    Actually, I have the exact opposite feelings about freestyle They play crap music and I find their ridiculously staged slickly awkward banter endearing.

  9. mdrayner says:

    2006: James Blunt and The Wave
    2007: Jian Ghomeshi

  10. mdrayner says:

    2006: James Blunt and The Wave
    2007: Jian Ghomeshi

  11. Anonymous says:

    They try sooo hard to make it sound like actual banter but its so reduculously staged that the same lines appear 2 days earlier in the promos for the show.

    I can’t take it anymore.

    It was only passable when Nick Purden was guest host.

    I really wanted them to bring back Tetsuro Shigamatsu, best afternoon CBC host ever.

    odb

  12. bootybrown says:

    Sounds more like Jan Gibrishi! Bring on the fuckin John Tesh! Those bastards wikk never tksae me alive fight the power Jake!

  13. bootybrown says:

    Sounds more like Jan Gibrishi! Bring on the fuckin John Tesh! Those bastards wikk never tksae me alive fight the power Jake!

Leave a Reply

