The power of suggestion

~ Fuck! I forgot to go to METAL: A Headbangers Journey last night. I’d been looking forward to it for a month. Fuck.

~ Instead I hung out at Mambos watching the hobos with Ms. Homer. Somehow I’m now her date to the VISFF screening. And apparently I’m “dressing fancy.” How does she get me to agree to these things? I did manage to hold my ground and refused to join her artist commune.

~ Speaking of the VISFF, there’s a printing flaw on the poster I’m not happy with. Same flaw I always get when I get vector files printed at Impact. The black doesn’t cover yellow very well. Maybe I have to start using a “rich black” swatch instead of 100% K swatch. Fuck. It’s not that noticeable from a distance. Fuck none-the-less.

~ I’ve begun making plans for Ramshackle 2007.

60 Responses to The power of suggestion

  1. ms_dirtnap says:

    When is that VIFF, ’cause I never see any press about it, and really don’t want to miss it?

    Also, if you honoured me with a spot at R07, I promise to do better than I did at the Cambie last time, where everything was going fine until I forgot the fingering for my last song, and basically just played nasty discordance while tryihng to figure out where my lyrics could fit in, which was no where, then Jessica asked me where I get my lyrics, which I later thought may have been sarcastic as one song was a Nina Simone cover and one had the really redic cover ‘sea of love’ line in it, but I forgot that when she asked and just said ‘off the top of my head’, which makes me look like a plagiarist to someone really paying attention… or a circus acrobat, or a dog doing tricks… But I count on people not paying attention, and bad acoustics and such. However practicing more before a gig where you actually have songs planned is usually a good idea.

    And that sucks about the Headbanger’s Journey. I commiserate with your disappointment.

  2. ms_dirtnap says:

    When is that VIFF, ’cause I never see any press about it, and really don’t want to miss it?

    Also, if you honoured me with a spot at R07, I promise to do better than I did at the Cambie last time, where everything was going fine until I forgot the fingering for my last song, and basically just played nasty discordance while tryihng to figure out where my lyrics could fit in, which was no where, then Jessica asked me where I get my lyrics, which I later thought may have been sarcastic as one song was a Nina Simone cover and one had the really redic cover ‘sea of love’ line in it, but I forgot that when she asked and just said ‘off the top of my head’, which makes me look like a plagiarist to someone really paying attention… or a circus acrobat, or a dog doing tricks… But I count on people not paying attention, and bad acoustics and such. However practicing more before a gig where you actually have songs planned is usually a good idea.

    And that sucks about the Headbanger’s Journey. I commiserate with your disappointment.

  3. mrdapper says:

    The VISFF is Jan 20th. Malaspina theatre. I think 7:30pm… or is it 8pm?

    Do you *promise* to practice?

  4. nine_doors says:

    maybe it’s time for Ramshackle to be retired and an entirely new event to be born…just a thought…lately I’m all about the onward and upward

  5. mrdapper says:

    Are you seriously comparing Ramshackle to the Rock-a-thon?

  6. Metal

    IT’s way more metal to forget to go to college to watch a movie about metal.
    Live the dream. (btw, i forgot too).

  7. Metal

    IT’s way more metal to forget to go to college to watch a movie about metal.
    Live the dream. (btw, i forgot too).

  8. mrdapper says:

    Re: Metal

    I’m considering ordering it from amazon. I’ll let you know if I do.

  9. ms_dirtnap says:

    Was I that bad? If I hadn’t asked would you have given me up as unworthy?

  10. nine_doors says:

    wasnt even thinking it, no

  11. mrdapper says:

    Don’t be absurd.

  12. mrdapper says:

    What kind of event would you suggest?

  13. refuse not to join?

    then i can’t keep you out if i wanted to? awesome!

    i bet it has amazing acoustics….

  14. refuse not to join?

    then i can’t keep you out if i wanted to? awesome!

    i bet it has amazing acoustics….

  15. mrdapper says:

    Re: refuse not to join?

    damn… double negative… thank you for proofing my post ms. homer. i will correct it now.

  16. ms_dirtnap says:

    Sorry, I’m just a bit musically desperate. Like a thirty year old that’s only ever made out, and only a few times at that.

  17. mrdapper says:

    so you’re saying you need to get musically laid?

  18. ms_dirtnap says:

    I’m not exactly sure how to respond to that, but yes, I guess that’s what I’m implying. I want something, and occasionaly get a small taste of it, but can’t seem to manifest much more of it.

  19. mrdapper says:

    or it’s like really gourmet $25/oz. swiss chocolate?

  20. ms_dirtnap says:

    Exactly, in the sense that it is something I could do more of if I made it a priority, but there is always something else demanding my time (or in the metaphor, money). Except in reality, I actually invest quite a bit of money in the hobby I barely practice.

  21. johnnysega says:

    VISFF – Jan. 20th at 7pm at the Malaspina Theatre. Doors open at 6:15. I expect you (and everyone) to dress fancy/dapper/sexy.

  22. johnnysega says:

    VISFF – Jan. 20th at 7pm at the Malaspina Theatre. Doors open at 6:15. I expect you (and everyone) to dress fancy/dapper/sexy.

  23. mrdapper says:

    can you be dapper and sexy?

  24. johnnysega says:

    It’s a tough move to pull off, but I have faith in you. Think bowler hat and leather pants.

  25. johnnysega says:

    VISFF – Saturday, Jan. 20th, 7pm, doors open at 6:15 at the Malaspina Theatre. Tickets available at the Nanaimo Arts Council in Rutherford Mall or at the door for $10.

  26. Re: refuse not to join?

    ummm, i think you may be a better judge of character than i. or at least more accurate. except for that time you accused me of having borderline personality disorder. i have totally learned to form attachments to other humans. that’s what makes your accuracy so difficult….

  27. i’m just replying to these

    to find out what pic #1192680 looks like

  28. mrdapper says:

    Re: refuse not to join?

    ha! i did accuse you of that didn’t i?

    but otherwise, what is this á propos of? what are you talking about?

  29. mrdapper says:

    I like the idea of making swiss chocolate a priority.

  30. Anonymous says:

    HA!
    i watched it on the airplane
    it was pretty good

  31. Anonymous says:

    HA!
    i watched it on the airplane
    it was pretty good

  32. mrdapper says:

    I’m considering buying it from amazon because I’m too lazy to go to the video store to rent it.

  33. mrdapper says:

    I’m considering buying it from amazon because I’m too lazy to go to the video store to rent it.

Leave a Reply

