Work is for jerks


Makito Katherine Jake and Ken
Originally uploaded by margaret hanson.

~ A games nite first: Ken attended. Even better, we played Star Wars Trivial Pursuit. Nerdery. So much nerdery. Mostly resting on my shoulders. As I quoted dialogue verbatim between every question. Though I answered almost every question I got wrong. I think Kat won both our two pies. Team Kai and Makito trounced the rest of us. When Ken left, he looked like he felt soiled with nerdery. Matt-O tried to steal one of my pairs of 3-D glasses. Jenn Scott even made an appearance for a few brief minutes — which I suspect will be the last time I see her until next year and I’ll never meet her manlytype.

~ First Mr. Dapper sighting of 2007. He was walking around the neighborhood near Brooks Landing. What’s he up to? Glad he’s still alive though. Hadn’t seen him for several months. I was in that neighborhood this morning paying my rent — which was three days late again. New years resolution #1 down the drain.

~ Actually, my only new years resolution was quite simple: Quit fucking shit up. So far, so good. 362 days to go.

~ I have 669 email messages in my work inbox. 100% spam.

~ I met Matt on my lunchbreak. Jennifer’s Matt. He was taller and much more orange than I’d imagined. Seemed very nice though.

~ There’s a new track on the Babel page. Deathride to Pluto!

~ This x-mas break has thrown me for a loop. Everything has been flipped upside down. But it’s all in a good way — even the not quite perfect stuff. I feel reborn. I feel alive for the first time since I can remember.

  Sagittarius Horoscope for week of January 4, 2007

If 2006 sometimes felt like the Year of Perpetual PMS (even for you men), 2007 will quickly make you forget any bloated, edgy feelings that may still linger. The coming months may in fact feel like the Year of Perpetual Ovulation (even for you men). I bet you’ll often feel horny not just for sexual adventures, but for other kinds of intimate exchanges that make you smarter and wilder.   

 
 ~ LJ  Haiku 2007 ~ 

for a life full of
smoke it looked like it was
stuffed with cotton

a good idea
turned out to be kind of
depressing

noises on the video
you can’t even fathom
that i think i can

18 Responses to Work is for jerks

  1. Thanks again for the stack of books. If I ever get rid of any of mine, you get first crack at them.

  2. Thanks again for the stack of books. If I ever get rid of any of mine, you get first crack at them.

  3. nathandrama says:

    i’m glad to hear mr. dapper is well.

  4. nathandrama says:

    i’m glad to hear mr. dapper is well.

  5. ms_dirtnap says:

    Are the bolded words things you’ve linked from that I;m just not privileged enough to see?

  6. ms_dirtnap says:

    Are the bolded words things you’ve linked from that I;m just not privileged enough to see?

  7. ms_dirtnap says:

    ps, love the haiku

  8. mrdapper says:

    No, they’re just there so you can scan the entry and decide which paragraphs are worth reading at a glance. Only the Babel one is a link.

  9. mrdapper says:

    it was a good one.

  10. mollyroyal says:

    thats why i call matt ginger sometimes (but not in that lovey way of oh ginger.) you thought matt was tall? hmm, so much to learn i do.

  11. mollyroyal says:

    thats why i call matt ginger sometimes (but not in that lovey way of oh ginger.) you thought matt was tall? hmm, so much to learn i do.

  12. mrdapper says:

    tall relative to my dwarfliness.

  13. mrdapper says:

    you call him ginger angrily?

Leave a Reply

