Wall cats!

~ Ended up going stag to the staff party on saturday. Turns out it was a good thing I didn’t bring a boy for a date. When I made a quip I was thinking of bringing a boy, Sue went into a story about how at a previous job’s staff party this guy brought his boyfriend. The word “disgusting” was bandied around the table a few times and then one of the husbands changed the subject and said, “You can only talk about queers for so long.” I made a point of sitting crosslegged Bowie-style for the rest of the evening with my wine glass dangling from my fingertips at a jaunty angle. In the middle of the main-course, Justina looked at my plate and said, “You eat like a girl.” And I said, “This asparagus is divine.” It was amazing. All the food was amazing. And the wine was stellar.

~ Later, at Lauren’s birthday party, I turned around and Brent was standing their entirely naked. I was so slamboned at this point I just returned to the conversation I was having โ€” with who, I am not sure. It didn’t really dawn on me until later that Brent was casually standing their naked chatting with someone. It seemed somehow normal. I’m not sure what I was drinking at this party, because I had no alcohol with me. But I was drinking all night. I must have been hamburgling brews left and right. I briefly got into a theological tussle with that long-haired kid which I had to walk away from. There’s no explaining Taoism to a christian when you can’t even see straight. I doubt I could have swayed his mind sober. He was hardcore. It took me half an hour to find my shoes [right where I left them] and then another half-hour to find my jacket [right where I left it].

I spent all of yesterday destroyed by the worst hangover I have ever had. I had the shakes all day. Barely got through Pins of Light. I think I’m either hungover still today. Or I picked up a cold or flu while my immune system was compromised by the hangover. I should never have stopped drinking. Or not started again. Back on the not-drinking train.

~ Oh, yeah. I almost forgot. Crushed is available at Fascinating Rhythm now. 

~ I think I officially have the flu. Which makes me feel better about getting my ass kicked by that hang-over yesterday. Flu + Hang-over = It’s okay to be incapacitated. I wonder how long before my fever starts making me hallucinate at work.

86 Responses to Wall cats!

  1. newcleus says:

    You were pretty funny on air last night.

  2. newcleus says:

    You were pretty funny on air last night.

  3. I’ve never seen Bowie seated cross-legged. Does he have a special style?

  4. I’ve never seen Bowie seated cross-legged. Does he have a special style?

  5. mrdapper says:

    i think the vomit updates were classy.

  6. mrdapper says:

    space oddity video

    apparently only women are supposed to be be able to cross their legs like that due to hip-shape.

  7. Ah, I see. I can do that! It’s essential for keeping knees warm on cold days.

  8. mrdapper says:

    Which is why it’s good I didn’t ask you to come to my staff party. We wouldn’t have made it to the desert course.

  9. newcleus says:

    Your office really, really bothers me. Its 2006, not 1906.

  10. mrdapper says:

    to be fair, it’s not the people in the office so much as their construction/oil sands worker spouses and boyfriends.

  11. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    har. har.

    it’s not nice to make fun of sick people’s typos.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Re: desert course

    It would be difficult to play croquet with someone setting a new landspeed record right behind you. I assume.

  13. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    that’s just shatner… arriving late to the game as usual.

  14. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    livejournal’s been rife with typos lately and i’ve held my tongue too long.

  15. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    not if you’re focussed.

  16. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    you and explicate would be like two peas in a pod.

  17. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    shatner would totally be on a horse.

  18. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    note the croquet sandals

  19. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    i thought you had papers to work on.

  20. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    you have a dosier going don’t you.

  21. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    two peas at a party critiquing people’s grammar.

  22. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    yes, i have nine.
    but if you say it out loud you can pretend you have nein.

  23. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    argh. pic not working?

  24. Re: desert course

    We don’t look very happy about it.

  25. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    no, but i do have a dossier

  26. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    we are ornery bastards

  27. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    it’s true! but loveably so. except when you guys are making fun of my typing.

  28. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    you should try to work that pun into one of your papers.

  29. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    poor maureen has dealt with enough puns this semester as it is. and her sense of humor will presumably be tapped when i show up with a whole semester of work in one shot.

  30. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    it’s true? kai seemed like an agreeable chap when i had a class with him. then again, i was half asleep the whole time. having a class before noon is outrageous.

  31. Re: desert course

    Jake’s lying, I’m lovely. What class was this again?

  32. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    it was with jeff lawrence (“okay LOOKIT!”)
    probably existentialism?

  33. Re: desert course

    Ha ha, lookit. Right right. I think I did that class in auto-pilot.

  34. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    i adore jeff.
    and existential lit.
    but nobody should have to think in the morning.

  35. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    lovely. until you start arguing about grammar with someone named shanks. then you get ornery.

  36. Re: desert course

    That’s just the Shanks factor. If the Dalai Lama was a copy editor, Shanks would make him snappy too.

  37. mrdapper says:

    Re: desert course

    I would PAY BIG DOLLARS to see that encounter. That’s what I want for Christmas, please.

  38. Re: desert course

    No way, you’ll just play with him for a few weeks and get bored. We’d eventually flush ‘im down the toilet like the alligators.

  39. aporia says:

    Re: desert course

    AMEN

  40. atrophe says:

    oh so its like a hive of Mikes

  41. mrdapper says:

    maybe not so sketchy, but yes, same attitudes.

  42. carnivorissa says:

    Oh my! Its like the war of the roses in here. Nice cover jake, can’t wait to hear it. Did I ever tell you I spent a whole day listening to Stephen’s collection of jake sound? You suck when you are hung over. very short fused. although you did perk up a bit after i gave you/ forced that orange upon you.
    get yourself some oil of oregeno and take it all winter. i never get sick anymore. (knock on wood)

    • mrdapper says:

      It wasn’t a hangover after all. It was the flu. Actually I get somekind of hangover psychosis where I become sad and irriatable. Sue from work gets it too. Anyway… I think if I just don’t drink all winter, I won’t get sick again.

  43. carnivorissa says:

    Oh my! Its like the war of the roses in here. Nice cover jake, can’t wait to hear it. Did I ever tell you I spent a whole day listening to Stephen’s collection of jake sound? You suck when you are hung over. very short fused. although you did perk up a bit after i gave you/ forced that orange upon you.
    get yourself some oil of oregeno and take it all winter. i never get sick anymore. (knock on wood)

  44. mrdapper says:

    It wasn’t a hangover after all. It was the flu. Actually I get somekind of hangover psychosis where I become sad and irriatable. Sue from work gets it too. Anyway… I think if I just don’t drink all winter, I won’t get sick again.

Leave a Reply

