“Here is my hand. Where is your paw?”

~ So, the new Joanna Newsom is making my heart explode in a way that is almost transcendental. More shocking, the loathsome Van Dyke Parks is involved. She’s sings about an octave lower this time and with less of her trademark affected lisp — which combine to be devastatingly affecting. It’s epic in a way that makes Final Fantasy’s neo-classical bombast seems like mere parlour ballads. A tragic love story between a circus bear and monkey? That should be a disaster. But it’s not. It’s divine.

~ The new Isobel Campbell is really nice too. Actually, the only time I’ve really enjoyed her music since Tigermilk. You might call this one Bolan Sebastian. What with the Steve Peregrine Took style bongos. That is if you were into making puns. Sounds kind of like Baez & Garfunkle might have sounded if they had existed. Thankfully Baez & Garfunkle did not exist. Because their record would have been awful. Unlike this one which is really rather quite nice indeed.

~ The paid day off really means I’m scrambling to catch up today. Still grateful, but less so now that my in-box is overflowing. The query as to just why I appear to be a day behind schedule was not appreciated. It’s been suggested I develop a cough and go home. Almost worth being two days behind schedule. Also, I’m obviously not really scambling to catch-up, I’m updating my blog.

18 Responses to “Here is my hand. Where is your paw?”

  1. carnivorissa says:

    I love her! joanna! i would follow her little harpy hands to the end of the earth. She is playing in Vancouver today! im not there. my heart is breaking at the thought. sob.

  2. carnivorissa says:

    I love her! joanna! i would follow her little harpy hands to the end of the earth. She is playing in Vancouver today! im not there. my heart is breaking at the thought. sob.

  3. newcleus says:

    One of my favorite bands Nomo do an amazing cover of Book of right on on their album Nu Tones its a great mix of afrobeat, spiritual jazz and detroit style techno.

  4. newcleus says:

    One of my favorite bands Nomo do an amazing cover of Book of right on on their album Nu Tones its a great mix of afrobeat, spiritual jazz and detroit style techno.

  5. kenholiday says:

    its the song cycles man, its all about song cycles.

  6. kenholiday says:

    its the song cycles man, its all about song cycles.

  7. Anonymous says:

    “columnated ruins mutherfcking domino”

  8. Anonymous says:

    “columnated ruins mutherfcking domino”

  9. Anonymous says:

    I heard Van Dyke Parks was to work as a roadie service for Pink’s next tour, but then she found out he was dude.

  10. Anonymous says:

    I heard Van Dyke Parks was to work as a roadie service for Pink’s next tour, but then she found out he was dude.

  11. mrdapper says:

    no idea what this means.

  12. Anonymous says:

    and doesnt own a van afterall

  13. Anonymous says:

    that’s exactly what mike love said

Leave a Reply

