It just never ends.

~ Last night my birthday celebrations continued for a record third night with Makito taking me out for dinner. I nominated Bistro Taiyo as the venue. Then without telling him, I invited along Stephen & Carissa and decided to throw Ms. Homer into the mix for good measure. I knew it wouldn’t be a problem. Though Sara got interrogated about pretty much every aspect of her life by Makito β€” which was good entertainment for the rest of us. I had the eel. It was seriously delicious. 

~ Carrissa made me the best card ever. It’s this tesseract of a collage made out of a CD sleeve and had this square of collaged illustration board inside. Plus another card. Apparently Stephen was very jealous. As he should be. It’s awesome.


[ Makito Inomatastein, klezmer virtuoso, rocks out on the Klezmotron 2000 ]

Pins of Light tonight was our early Hanukkah special.  We played music by Jews. Or at least tried to. We went on the assumption Marc Bolan was Jewish. Found out Michael Bolton was Jewish. Did not play Michale Bolton. Ironically, when I was teen, I thought Michael Bolton was Marc Bolan; That he used to front T.Rex and had gone down hill. I didn’t realize he started off at the bottom of the hill.

Anyway, Robocoon dropped by to tell the story of Racoonukkah. Then Makito dropped by to drop some euro-pop techno which we dubbed “klezmer” and proceeded to give the Pins of Light Orchestra treatment to. The “Don’t Marry Him” song [music by Makito] was, perhaps, my shining Pins of Light moment of all time. I think Matt taped it. I hope it becomes a YouTube classic. Sister Mel-Mel came by too and partook in all this good stuff. The show might be five hours long next week.  Songwriters Circle is moving to friday mornings! No more Valdy assaults!


[ Photo by Carissa. I talk on the phone to Destanne while Makito jams with the Pins ]

~ Stephen bought me a birthday coffee and Mel gave me a mix CD which makes this officially day number four of my birthday celebrations.

~ I got a nice email from a postie today which I will respond to tomorrow. On my paid day off. That’ll by day number five of my birthday celebrations. Best job perk ever.

~ I’ve been carting this tub of birthday cookies everywhere, spreading the joy. It’s maybe only a quarter full now.

~ Sister Ray practice tonight spawned three new songs. We felt like we could just sit here all night churning them out. We could basically hit any random string and note and it sounded simply amazing. I mean that literally. I tried it. I hit random notes and it sounded perfect. One of those blessed jamming nights.

42 Responses to It just never ends.

  1. newcleus says:

    Sounds like fun Jake – I’m happy to hear that Songwriter’s Circle‘s reign of terror on Sunday nights is over.

  2. newcleus says:

    Sounds like fun Jake – I’m happy to hear that Songwriter’s Circle‘s reign of terror on Sunday nights is over.

  3. nine_doors says:

    Amen.

    It’s what they play in the Purgatory waiting room, of this I’m sure.

  4. newcleus says:

    Here’s to hoping that Frazer and Franklyn so scare them that they hide under a rock and never pick up a guitar again.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I am so freakin’ happy that you like carrying those birthday cookies around! I did not realize there were so many until they did not fit in the cookie tin I meant to put them in…you got waaay more than Carpenter, I hope he doesn’t try to beat you up.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I am so freakin’ happy that you like carrying those birthday cookies around! I did not realize there were so many until they did not fit in the cookie tin I meant to put them in…you got waaay more than Carpenter, I hope he doesn’t try to beat you up.

  7. mrdapper says:

    πŸ™‚
    I think I actually didn’t show the tub to Carpenter. Unless Mel-Mel tells him, I’m safe.

  8. carnivorissa says:

    sad and ignored.

    i only spent like 2 hole hours making your present and you didn’t even mention it.

  9. carnivorissa says:

    sad and ignored.

    i only spent like 2 hole hours making your present and you didn’t even mention it.

  10. mrdapper says:

    Re: sad and ignored.

    Yeah. Haha. I know. Right before reading this comment I saw it sitting beside my computer and I said to myself: “OH FUCK.”

    I will remedy the situation. Now.

  11. aporia says:

    Re: sad and ignored.

    just like the scarf! πŸ˜›

  12. carnivorissa says:

    Re: sad and ignored.

    wow. my sulking worked! thanks jake. i will remember to use that method in the future. or was it the guilt? anyway, i will go change what i wrote about you on my blog.

  13. mrdapper says:

    Re: sad and ignored.

    What?!?! The scarf was LAST year! And when people ask about it I still proudly say “It’s a Chelsea-made original.”

  14. mrdapper says:

    Re: ha!

    D’oh! Busted.

  15. aporia says:

    Re: ha!

    ‘twould’ve been forgotten by now… except that i was working on that scarf in class for like a month and stayed up all night a couple nights trying to get it done in time. heartbreak!

    you seem to wear it a lot though. that’s cool.

    anyway, just showing carissa she’s not alone! >:)

  16. mrdapper says:

    Re: ha!

    I love it. But it’s a few feet too short. Doesn;t stay wrapped.

    Yeah. Welcome to the “Jake’s a douchebag club” Carissa!

  17. carnivorissa says:

    Re: ha!

    yes, he does boast about the scarf, he told me you made it when i commented on it. ps…mels hat looks great too!

  18. ms_dirtnap says:

    Jake, I just realized that must have been your scarf that fell off the congo line! The girl beside me picked up a scarf with a ‘who did this fall off of?” look on her face, scanning the crowd. In the crazyness of the moment I forgot about it.
    I hope you got it back. I’d feel bad, because I sort-a recognized it, though wasn’t sure until all your descriptions just now.

  19. ms_dirtnap says:

    Jake, I just realized that must have been your scarf that fell off the congo line! The girl beside me picked up a scarf with a ‘who did this fall off of?” look on her face, scanning the crowd. In the crazyness of the moment I forgot about it.
    I hope you got it back. I’d feel bad, because I sort-a recognized it, though wasn’t sure until all your descriptions just now.

  20. mrdapper says:

    It was. A nice man handed it to me. No worries.

  21. aporia says:

    Re: ha!

    i wouldn’t put it like that!

    sorry, i thought it was generously oversized & any further length would make it a burden.

  22. aporia says:

    Re: ha!

    that’s sweet, thanks!

  23. carnivorissa says:

    how often do you get to say anything fell off the conga line. fabulous!

  24. carnivorissa says:

    how often do you get to say anything fell off the conga line. fabulous!

  25. mrdapper says:

    Re: ha!

    i’m not complaining! the scarf’s great!
    i guess, technically, i was complaining. but not really.

Leave a Reply

