“White rabbit”… as apparently they say…


Birthday Self Portrait: 34
Originally uploaded by Ampersand Photography.

~ Seems here at the office yesterday they forgot it was my birthday [honestly, I didn’t notice]. They all feel disproportionately [though I suspect minorly insincerely] terrible about it. I decided not to milk it. I’m not sure what I’d even milk it for. We’re going out for lunch today. Can’t miss out on free lunch because I “wasn’t vocal enough” yesterday. I think they were more in a panic that they almost missed free lunch. Offices revolve around sacks of chocolate and free lunches.

~ The Sun is shining. I feel like I should run out and soak in a few rays of vitamin D. This year I’m beginning to wonder if I don’t get a touch of the SAD after all. This could be a problem since I dislike the Sun and avoid its invisible tentacles of UV death at all costs. I suppose it’s not worth relative eternal youth to have seasonal depression twelve months of the year. Time to start wrinkling. I’m getting to the age where a little of the Clint Eastwood leather on the cheeks wouldn’t be a bad thing.

~ Dinner with the parents was nice and not half as awkward as I feared. You can chit-chat about snow and storm damage for over an hour. My dad really enjoyed his ribs. And the half-litre of very sherry-like merlot my mom and I shared [I had at least two-thirds of it] got me kind of lit. More lit than the tea lights that kept going out and my mom kept stealing new ones from other tables.

~ I suspect the Urbane Decay covers are printed and waiting for me at Impact. I haven’t even checked due to the snow and I guess because we’re going out for lunch, I won’t be able to pick them up until monday. I also wanted to go to the post office and mail something today. But I guess that’ll have to wait too.

~ Crap. It’s the first and I forgot to pay rent. Again.

24 Responses to “White rabbit”… as apparently they say…

  1. newcleus says:

    Sharp photo Jake, and again happy birthday.

  2. newcleus says:

    Sharp photo Jake, and again happy birthday.

  3. nathandrama says:

    i, of course, had no idea it was yr birthday
    happy birthday!

  4. nathandrama says:

    i, of course, had no idea it was yr birthday
    happy birthday!

  5. mrdapper says:

    Out of towners get special dispensation. Except for Finx. Whose birthday wishes are noticeably lacking.

  6. mdrayner says:

    Invisible tentacles of UV death would be a good name for a Barfburn song.

    • ninjaj says:

      That is, I have to say, an especially stupendous photo.

      You know, your birthday was the first of the “new year” (and by that I mean the “new school year” which I am used to revolving around) and I was, initially, quite sad that I was beginning “year one” of NOT baking cakes for Navigator birthdays.

      That’s where the cupcake came in.

    • mrdapper says:

      you are welcome to it.

  7. mdrayner says:

    Invisible tentacles of UV death would be a good name for a Barfburn song.

  8. ninjaj says:

    That is, I have to say, an especially stupendous photo.

    You know, your birthday was the first of the “new year” (and by that I mean the “new school year” which I am used to revolving around) and I was, initially, quite sad that I was beginning “year one” of NOT baking cakes for Navigator birthdays.

    That’s where the cupcake came in.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Happy Belated

    You are prolific, Jake. Damn prolific.

    Keep it up.

    Happy Belated.

    Peter

  10. Anonymous says:

    Happy Belated

    You are prolific, Jake. Damn prolific.

    Keep it up.

    Happy Belated.

    Peter

  11. mrdapper says:

    you are welcome to it.

  12. mrdapper says:

    Re: Happy Belated

    Ha! You mean blog prolific? You have the quality over my quantity for sure.

    Everyone go here:
    http://peterdemmon.blogspot.com/
    the dude’s deep.

  13. mrdapper says:

    The virtual cupcake was better than any physical cake. And not just because I’m avoiding eating everything that makes cakes good.

  14. spectaclist says:

    happy birthday

    the computer clock here says 12/3, but it’s 4:48 in the morning as I’d just came home from work. Noticibly much belated birthday greeting but nonetheless, have a good one.

  15. spectaclist says:

    happy birthday

    the computer clock here says 12/3, but it’s 4:48 in the morning as I’d just came home from work. Noticibly much belated birthday greeting but nonetheless, have a good one.

  16. mrdapper says:

    Re: happy birthday

    thanks!

  17. charenton_ says:

    See, I never made the cakes so I always forgot when the actual birthdays are. But very very happy birthday to you! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

