Wake up!

~ This morning I accidentally hit the “snooze” button instead of the “off” button on my alarm before reluctantly crawling out of bed and getting into the shower. The bed was a warm cocoon and getting naked in the frosty cold seems unappealing. When I emerged from the second warm cocoon of the shower, I found my alarm blaring. My alarms get progressively louder until the speaker is about half a decibel from being blown. And then doesn’t shut itself off no matter how long its been going. It’s not so much an insistent electronic buzz at this point but a harsh pulsing entity that gives of sonic rays almost visible to the human eye. I turned it off and hoped that it didn’t bother Helen and Steve. I didn’t think about it again until I got home and it turned out Helen had left an angry message this morning while I was in the shower. “It seems you’re sleeping through your alarm. WAKE UP JAKE AND TURN YOUR ALARM OFF!” She may not have been so much angry as extremely tired. Tired enough not to make the logical observation that if I could hear the phone ring, I would probably be aware my alarm was in agony. Though if I was doing it on purpose, I imagine anger would have been justified. Oops.

18 Responses to Wake up!

  1. bw_inc says:

    hahaha, that’s hilarious~! I hate alarm clocks. That noise is SO irritating. :S My roommate had her alarm going for like a good 20 minutes once… made me wonder if she was even home. And she was! She just slept through most of it… which amazed me. :S

  2. bw_inc says:

    hahaha, that’s hilarious~! I hate alarm clocks. That noise is SO irritating. :S My roommate had her alarm going for like a good 20 minutes once… made me wonder if she was even home. And she was! She just slept through most of it… which amazed me. :S

  3. angry notes are the best. you should reciprocate with a muffin and a sorry note.

  4. angry notes are the best. you should reciprocate with a muffin and a sorry note.

  5. mrdapper says:

    I will assume alcohol was involved.

  6. mrdapper says:

    i would except… no muffins.

  7. pandorsalfin says:

    Trevor’s alarm goes off often at like, 6 am. It’s fun.

  8. pandorsalfin says:

    Trevor’s alarm goes off often at like, 6 am. It’s fun.

  9. aporia says:

    recently pulled off my personal best: slept through two hours of alarm before it woke me

  10. Anonymous says:

    I forgot about that morning routine of trying to wake you up and getting slightly worried you might actually be in a coma.

  11. aporia says:

    sleep is infatuated with me. it has trouble letting go.

  12. aporia says:

    sleep is infatuated with me. it has trouble letting go.

Leave a Reply

