No wind in these sails

~ After Pins of Light (which was a mess) I felt so lethargic that I bailed on my staff BBQ. That’s makes three extracurricular staff events I’ve missed in a row. I actually have never been to one. I just didn’t have the energy to act “normal” for any more hours that week. After all, it’s monday today and that’s another 40 hours of subverting my ideals. So I went to the Devil and Daniel Johnston at the 218. It was the proper choice — really quite an fantastic movie. Though it was worrying to myself as his doodles are really a lot like some of mine and there was his whole Laura obsession which somewhat paralleled my Liz obsession. Of course, I don’t still write 1000’s of songs about her.  And I never went nuts. I suppose there’s a little Daniel Johnston in all of us. Except for the people I work with. There’s no Daniel Johnston in them. Lucky bastards.

~ I was so ill at work today. I couldn’t call in sick because Pentti has decided to work part time and I knew he wasn’t coming in. So I went in to get the shit that needed to get done… er, done. But lacked the mental capacity to actually do it. So I just  wrote emails. And complained.

~ Apparently there’s going to be some 30-foot TV on the back wall of the Port Theatre that’s going to show 24-hour olympics coverage. Which I guess the methies will watch. It’s going to cost the city 300 grand or something ridiculous. Post-olympics it’s going to show advertizements. Times Square style. Maybe it’s all a rumour.

16 Responses to No wind in these sails

  1. ninjaj says:

    I have to say, that is a mighty large television. Nanaimo truly does have it all, now doesn’t it?

  2. ninjaj says:

    I have to say, that is a mighty large television. Nanaimo truly does have it all, now doesn’t it?

  3. what’s the 218?

    you were going to bail on your staff bbq anyway.

  4. what’s the 218?

    you were going to bail on your staff bbq anyway.

  5. bootybrown says:

    This proposed giant tv better have giant sound to go with it.

  6. bootybrown says:

    This proposed giant tv better have giant sound to go with it.

  7. atrophe says:

    maybe the screen is supposed to distract people from the enormous pit

  8. atrophe says:

    maybe the screen is supposed to distract people from the enormous pit

  9. mrdapper says:

    400 foot speaker stacks.

  10. mrdapper says:

    i think it’s meant to attract the methies like moths and then vapourize them with video rays.

  11. mrdapper says:

    jamie and erins.

    yeah, i made that decision to bail more mid show than post-show.

  12. mrdapper says:

    we don’t have a giant heroin needle.

Leave a Reply

