I have decided…

~ I need to find a new schtick. Being dysfunctional isn’t really working for me. Though the fact I consider my dysfunctionality a schtick is somewhat worrying and dysfunctional in itself.  Maybe I’m not actually dysfunctional by nature but writing songs romanticizing being dysfunctional for years on end has, in fact, turned me dysfunctional.  It sure is a pickle.

~ My “Not Allowed To Purchase Crap Foods” diet is working out well. “Crap foods” mostly being refined sugar, dairy, processed meats, things fried and excessive amounts of bread. I’ve managed to avoid tricking people into purchasing crap food for me as well. Which I figured would be the downfall of this plan. Coercing people into buying me poutine and icecream or resorting to shoplifting chocolate bars, that is.

~ I’m hoping to be on Pins of Light this week. It’s been three weeks since I dropped in and listening to CHLY last night made me miss it even more. Apparently Stephen is making an appearance in the apartment tonight! We haven’t seen each other since he moved in.

44 Responses to I have decided…

  1. atrophe says:

    I’ve never seen your personality as dysfunctional. You strike me as one of the more level-headed people I know.

    Unless you’re referring to relationships, which in any case I have you easily trumped. Romanticizing dysfunction beats a fixation on emotional detachment and unrequited love.

  2. atrophe says:

    I’ve never seen your personality as dysfunctional. You strike me as one of the more level-headed people I know.

    Unless you’re referring to relationships, which in any case I have you easily trumped. Romanticizing dysfunction beats a fixation on emotional detachment and unrequited love.

  3. mrdapper says:

    Some say my life is defined by a particular unrequited love.

  4. mrdapper says:

    Also you think I’m level-headed because most people we know are almost entirely bitchcakes.

  5. ratboyrich says:

    I think your new schtick should be “fun lovin’ frat boy”. I can see it now. All you need are a few lacoste shirts and a lot of starch for the collars and you’ll be set.

    That diet sounds awesome. I’m doing somewhat the same thing…kind of. No refined sugars, no shitty junk food or super fatty food. I still love my dairy though because as we all know, cheese makes the world go ’round.

    Just cutting out those crappy foods and a lovely forced eating habit change after getting my gall bladder and appendix removed in Mexico have helped me lose a pile of weight.

  6. ratboyrich says:

    I think your new schtick should be “fun lovin’ frat boy”. I can see it now. All you need are a few lacoste shirts and a lot of starch for the collars and you’ll be set.

    That diet sounds awesome. I’m doing somewhat the same thing…kind of. No refined sugars, no shitty junk food or super fatty food. I still love my dairy though because as we all know, cheese makes the world go ’round.

    Just cutting out those crappy foods and a lovely forced eating habit change after getting my gall bladder and appendix removed in Mexico have helped me lose a pile of weight.

  7. mrdapper says:

    I heard a rumour about that. I still don’t understand why the sketchy mexican doctors are harvesting gall bladders and appendixes. Seems like a low-profit organ.

  8. newcleus says:

    Man I hope I’m more level-headed then most people you know.

  9. atrophe says:

    after being incredibly suprised by a non-design friend’s adverse reaction to Makito, I am also beginning to worry that this is true

  10. mrdapper says:

    All my non-design/art friends are indie-rockers and writers. So I don’t really even know a single “straight” person.

    Personally, I was more suprised that Kai had a positive reaction to Makito. Oh right… he’s a demented comic artist.

  11. mrdapper says:

    Now that was a good chuckle.

  12. atrophe says:

    but see I think that you and Kai are interesting, rational people. I think that the rest of the world is bitchcakes, not we

  13. mrdapper says:

    But you are also working on a comic with me about a primate private eye.

  14. atrophe says:

    as opposed to starving myself to the point of seeing hallucinations on a religious retreat in Croatia, yes

  15. ratboyrich says:

    Because they’re delicious when served with tortilla’s and chipotle.

  16. mrdapper says:

    That does explain a lot of Taco Time’s menu.

  17. mollyroyal says:

    stephen is pretty much a man of mystery. seriously

  18. mollyroyal says:

    stephen is pretty much a man of mystery. seriously

  19. mollyroyal says:

    my hotdog icon cried a tear about the processed meats

  20. mollyroyal says:

    my hotdog icon cried a tear about the processed meats

  21. mrdapper says:

    so long as it wasn’t a tear of squeeze-cheeze.

  22. charenton_ says:

    Like, a particular person?

  23. mrdapper says:

    yes. though i believe that was resolved some time ago.

  24. Anonymous says:

    Hey… I’m the guy who’s going to be working the “fun lovin’ frat boy” angle in celebration of my 20 year H.S. reunion — so hands-off. But since there is no such thing as TOO many “fun lovin’ frat boys” go ahead and frat away…

    Sporto

  25. mrdapper says:

    Does Belushi’s character from Animal House count?

Leave a Reply

