I’d better let my parents cook me dinner tomorrow.

~  It’s official. I’ve achieved “sad bachelor” status by eating a bowl of Jell-O for dinner.

It’s a lot harder than I remembered to actually use food before it goes bad when you’re only cooking for yourself.  For instance, the raw spinach I like in wraps comes in far too large a bag to use before it turns into zombie slime. I mean, I eat a lot of wraps but not the three a day I’d have to scarf down in order to use maybe 3/4 of the bag before said zombification. I guess I’ll go back to the single bunches but they don’t always have them in stock. And the tortillas get all stale before I get to them… What’s a single person to do?

~  I’ll be the first to admit. I have no idea what the hell went on during the burlesque performance. Confused. Bash Brothers were fantastic though.  Fuzz-bass is always a winner.

~  Cleaning status of the apartment: Computer moved. Desk cleared out. Undecided about next action.  I really want to get rid of that damn desk. And that corner sofa thing. Hello vacant lot. 

48 Responses to I’d better let my parents cook me dinner tomorrow.

  1. My opa was telling me one time that in his bachelor days he once ate a whole block of ice cream for dinner. I don’t know if it was all he had, or if he just felt like it. I was suitably impressed.

    My uncle Hans also claims to have eaten something like 40 dumplings at one sitting, though that number has been steadily increasing with the years.

  2. My opa was telling me one time that in his bachelor days he once ate a whole block of ice cream for dinner. I don’t know if it was all he had, or if he just felt like it. I was suitably impressed.

    My uncle Hans also claims to have eaten something like 40 dumplings at one sitting, though that number has been steadily increasing with the years.

  3. atrophe says:

    I swell with pride every time I’m the only bachelor in the checkout with actual ingredients instead of a cart full of instant pizzas and soda. It’s especially fun during the school year with all the freshmen around.

    As for food going bad I usually just grab what I need when I need it. Gives me an excuse to go for a walk every day. I’ve finished off those tubs of salad greens on my own too, even though I can’t find the dressing I like here.

    • mrdapper says:

      my problem is i still shop like i’m cooking for two.

      • Anonymous says:

        You haven’t reached full bachelorhood acceptance/denial and/or love/hatred until you’ve taken the time and care to prepare yourself a batch of “puddin’ in a cloud” (That would be pudding – of your flavour choice – nestled lovingly in a bowl of whipped cream.)

        I have witnessed this first hand. It was sad and glorious at the same time.

      • mrdapper says:

        that sounds like something june cleaver would make. that’s way too much effort for a sad bachelor.

      • dropping the g on “pudding,” there, was totally sick. also, “nestled.” sick, sick-o. if you need some dessert, you should make yourself a pie or cake. nobody to share it with — all to yourself. eat it out of the pan without any pants on and youll find youre standing at the limits of rad-bachelor town. rad-bachelor town! theyre letting people in!

      • mrdapper says:

        Dude, when I lived in that isolated farmhouse in Errington, I BUILT rad-bachelor town.

      • Anonymous says:

        that’s way too much effort for a sad bachelor

        …hence the acceptance and love vein.

      • mrdapper says:

        i have no idea what you’re on about anonymous commentator. “love vein”? do you mean penis?

      • Anonymous says:

        Crickey… no I did not. Apologies all ’round.

  4. atrophe says:

    I swell with pride every time I’m the only bachelor in the checkout with actual ingredients instead of a cart full of instant pizzas and soda. It’s especially fun during the school year with all the freshmen around.

    As for food going bad I usually just grab what I need when I need it. Gives me an excuse to go for a walk every day. I’ve finished off those tubs of salad greens on my own too, even though I can’t find the dressing I like here.

  5. ninjaj says:

    When you make jello, if you add a few scoops of ice cream right before you put it in the fridge it adds a whole new dimension to J-E-L-L-O.

  6. ninjaj says:

    When you make jello, if you add a few scoops of ice cream right before you put it in the fridge it adds a whole new dimension to J-E-L-L-O.

  7. mrdapper says:

    my problem is i still shop like i’m cooking for two.

  8. mrdapper says:

    that sounds disgusting.

  9. jake, don’t you have a FREEZER? wraps freeze. promise! i do it all the time!

  10. jake, don’t you have a FREEZER? wraps freeze. promise! i do it all the time!

  11. mrdapper says:

    huh. and then just thaw ’em out as you need ’em… never thought of that.

  12. mollyroyal says:

    jello mixed with ginger ale instead of water is yumm. and it makes little bubbles in the jello.

  13. newcleus says:

    Cherry jello and rock road ice cream.

  14. I like to use aspic and beef broth to make MEAT JELLO.

  15. Anonymous says:

    You haven’t reached full bachelorhood acceptance/denial and/or love/hatred until you’ve taken the time and care to prepare yourself a batch of “puddin’ in a cloud” (That would be pudding – of your flavour choice – nestled lovingly in a bowl of whipped cream.)

    I have witnessed this first hand. It was sad and glorious at the same time.

  16. raneshadow says:

    This entry has given me so many ideas.

  17. raneshadow says:

    This entry has given me so many ideas.

  18. mrdapper says:

    more disgusting.

  19. mrdapper says:

    that sounds like something june cleaver would make. that’s way too much effort for a sad bachelor.

  20. dropping the g on “pudding,” there, was totally sick. also, “nestled.” sick, sick-o. if you need some dessert, you should make yourself a pie or cake. nobody to share it with — all to yourself. eat it out of the pan without any pants on and youll find youre standing at the limits of rad-bachelor town. rad-bachelor town! theyre letting people in!

  21. mrdapper says:

    Dude, when I lived in that isolated farmhouse in Errington, I BUILT rad-bachelor town.

  22. Anonymous says:

    that’s way too much effort for a sad bachelor

    …hence the acceptance and love vein.

  23. mrdapper says:

    i have no idea what you’re on about anonymous commentator. “love vein”? do you mean penis?

  24. Anonymous says:

    Crickey… no I did not. Apologies all ’round.

  25. ninjaj says:

    It’s soooooo good.

  26. ninjaj says:

    Screw the beef broth, just fry up some hamburger and add the fat! And toss in some bacon.

  27. mrdapper says:

    you’re making me lactate.

  28. ninjaj says:

    Mmmmmmm …. lactation.

Leave a Reply

