8:30-6 aint no way to make a living

»  The Boss is discontinuing our work-9-hour-days-and-take-every-second-friday-off plan. He said “for a number of reasons.” I would assume he’s clued in that for that final hour of my shift I just stare at my screen like a burnt-out husk that’s had its brains eaten by a zombie. I’m more than okay with this change. 8 hours of pixel-pushing is my limit. So yay for being able to go home at 5 like a regular human. Which is the whole point of working in an office.

»   “Not that I have anything against gays, but stop looking at me with that faggy expression.”  This time he was talking to his dog.

»   District B13 was somewhat surprisingly amazing. Especially the score by… wait for it… Da. Octopusss. Yes, there were three S’s. And also Ellen Degeneres style shouts of “Rack-ka-ka-kaaaa!” in the end-credits jam. Amazing. At any rate, the Avalon seems to have pulled it from rotation already, though The Omen is playing in two theatres still. Baffling.

»  I read somewhere that Pee-Wee’s Playhouse is getting a new life. Though a 50-year-old Paul Rubens is going to look freaky under that make-up. Like Joel Grey in Cabaret.  Which is actually kind of exciting now that I really think about it. I still think they’re making a mistake not doing Pee-Wee’s Playhouse: TNG casting Chris Clark as the next generation of Pee-Wee. His nephew perhaps.

12 Responses to 8:30-6 aint no way to make a living

  1. Anonymous says:

    whatever bubbles!

    • mrdapper says:

      No, seriously. District B13 is good!

      • atrophe says:

        I thought it was pretty entertaining as well. The fighting wasn’t as good as Ong Bak (seeing as it was basically a Parkour demonstration) but the plot was comparitively better. Could see Besson’s influence throughout.

      • mrdapper says:

        Ken quoted a review which was something to the effect of “John Woo style action mixed with French pessimism.” What more can you ask for?

      • mrdapper says:

        I had to wait to actyally watch Ong Bak before commenting, but I would say the plot is more than “comparitively” better. The B13 plot is almost ludicrously simple, but Ong Bak is basically a traditional Bruce Lee style kung fu movie structure. Quite boring I found as a story. The fight club scenes were quite good, but over all I found the B13 action sequences more kinetic and interesting, even if there was less actual martial arts.

  2. Anonymous says:

    whatever bubbles!

  3. mrdapper says:

    No, seriously. District B13 is good!

  4. atrophe says:

    I thought it was pretty entertaining as well. The fighting wasn’t as good as Ong Bak (seeing as it was basically a Parkour demonstration) but the plot was comparitively better. Could see Besson’s influence throughout.

  5. mrdapper says:

    Ken quoted a review which was something to the effect of “John Woo style action mixed with French pessimism.” What more can you ask for?

  6. dorothypoo says:

    i read that about peewee in grade 12, 7 years ago. still has not materialized.

  7. dorothypoo says:

    i read that about peewee in grade 12, 7 years ago. still has not materialized.

  8. mrdapper says:

    I had to wait to actyally watch Ong Bak before commenting, but I would say the plot is more than “comparitively” better. The B13 plot is almost ludicrously simple, but Ong Bak is basically a traditional Bruce Lee style kung fu movie structure. Quite boring I found as a story. The fight club scenes were quite good, but over all I found the B13 action sequences more kinetic and interesting, even if there was less actual martial arts.

Leave a Reply

