Getting passionate about the important matters in life.

I can’t believe I spent an hour last night arguing about Episode 3 with my friend on his blog. Why can’t I just let it go?

12 Responses to Getting passionate about the important matters in life.

  1. atrophe says:

    Hahaha, about what.

    • mrdapper says:

      a small exerpt taken from several much longer posts

      Peter: Are you saying Star Wars is supposed to give me something more than entertainment? I would like to know what this elusive thing is.

      Me: Yes I am. The elusive thing would be a sense that you’ve seen a good movie. Not just a bunch of over-produced action sequences, most of which have no dramatic necessity, slapped together.

      Peter: I think “slapped together” is a little harsh.

      Me: I say it’s accurate.

      Peter: The political maneuvering particularly kept me second guessing. I enjoyed watching them from that perspective.

      Me: Again, you see… That was an aspect that really disappointed me. I thought he dropped the ball there. He was shooting for a Dune kind of web within webs thing but had it so dumbed down for the kiddies it was just irritating. I kept hoping for some real intrigue and double-crossing spies and the whole bit… But it all plays on the surface instead of being deep in the pockets. But then, when you waste 20 minutes on pod-racers to ensure videogame sales… not much time left for fleshing out a kickass political plot. I felt that either he should have owned it, or left it out.

      Peter:: Ep 5… Walkers, bounty hunters, asteroids and a plot twist that RUINED me as a kid

      Me: All points in its favour. I counter with Frank Oz, that Pimp, that cheese slow-mo scene in the tree, and Mark Hamel’s ‘I’ve learned how to act over the summer’ over-acting.

      Peter: I think you are discounting the AFFECT that the films have had on this culture.

      Me: That’s true. I think it can, and has been, argued Star Wars ruined american cinema. I think my beef is there’s lots of people out there, and I not saying you’re one of them, who don’t see how EP4 is different from EP1. And worse, some of these people make movies.

      Peter: I choose Jar-Jar over the Ewoks.

      Me: I was about to say Jar-Jar has been conspicuously missing from this debate. Game-Set-Match.

      • atrophe says:

        Re: a small exerpt taken from several much longer posts

        “The political maneuvering particularly kept me second guessing.”

        Hahaha, what.

        I thought Ep3 was ok from a purely visual standpoint, easily the best looking in the franchise. I just think it sucks that Lucas’ ridiculously talented army of conceptual artists have all their efforts rendered meaningless by slapped together plot, bad acting, and an excessive reliance on breakthrough technology. I mean you can defend the awkward aspects all you want as a part of the space opera genre, but most of the problems struck as a result of either poor planning, lazyness or Lucas’ dementia; original trilogy included.

        Also why the fuck did the bad robots suddenly start making slapstick dying sounds in Ep3.

      • mrdapper says:

        Re: a small exerpt taken from several much longer posts

        I’m going to cut and paste that into my blog argument.

        yeah… robots making any kind of noise when they die except maybe a nice “sproing” is just insulting.

  2. atrophe says:

    Hahaha, about what.

  3. mrdapper says:

    a small exerpt taken from several much longer posts

    Peter: Are you saying Star Wars is supposed to give me something more than entertainment? I would like to know what this elusive thing is.

    Me: Yes I am. The elusive thing would be a sense that you’ve seen a good movie. Not just a bunch of over-produced action sequences, most of which have no dramatic necessity, slapped together.

    Peter: I think “slapped together” is a little harsh.

    Me: I say it’s accurate.

    Peter: The political maneuvering particularly kept me second guessing. I enjoyed watching them from that perspective.

    Me: Again, you see… That was an aspect that really disappointed me. I thought he dropped the ball there. He was shooting for a Dune kind of web within webs thing but had it so dumbed down for the kiddies it was just irritating. I kept hoping for some real intrigue and double-crossing spies and the whole bit… But it all plays on the surface instead of being deep in the pockets. But then, when you waste 20 minutes on pod-racers to ensure videogame sales… not much time left for fleshing out a kickass political plot. I felt that either he should have owned it, or left it out.

    Peter:: Ep 5… Walkers, bounty hunters, asteroids and a plot twist that RUINED me as a kid

    Me: All points in its favour. I counter with Frank Oz, that Pimp, that cheese slow-mo scene in the tree, and Mark Hamel’s ‘I’ve learned how to act over the summer’ over-acting.

    Peter: I think you are discounting the AFFECT that the films have had on this culture.

    Me: That’s true. I think it can, and has been, argued Star Wars ruined american cinema. I think my beef is there’s lots of people out there, and I not saying you’re one of them, who don’t see how EP4 is different from EP1. And worse, some of these people make movies.

    Peter: I choose Jar-Jar over the Ewoks.

    Me: I was about to say Jar-Jar has been conspicuously missing from this debate. Game-Set-Match.

  4. atrophe says:

    Re: a small exerpt taken from several much longer posts

    “The political maneuvering particularly kept me second guessing.”

    Hahaha, what.

    I thought Ep3 was ok from a purely visual standpoint, easily the best looking in the franchise. I just think it sucks that Lucas’ ridiculously talented army of conceptual artists have all their efforts rendered meaningless by slapped together plot, bad acting, and an excessive reliance on breakthrough technology. I mean you can defend the awkward aspects all you want as a part of the space opera genre, but most of the problems struck as a result of either poor planning, lazyness or Lucas’ dementia; original trilogy included.

    Also why the fuck did the bad robots suddenly start making slapstick dying sounds in Ep3.

  5. mrdapper says:

    Re: a small exerpt taken from several much longer posts

    I’m going to cut and paste that into my blog argument.

    yeah… robots making any kind of noise when they die except maybe a nice “sproing” is just insulting.

  6. newcleus says:

    Um yea I dunno cause on further reflection Star Wars sucks hard.

    • atrophe says:

      I think that the Star Wars background universe is cool, what with the lightsabers and mysticism and everything, its just that no one can tell a decent story taking place in it. The closest exceptions I’ve found were the Clone Wars cartoons and Knights of the Old Republic games; the previous of which was ‘kiddy’ without being juvenile schlock, and the later having better acting and backstory than any SW film, even in its unfinished forms.

  7. newcleus says:

    Um yea I dunno cause on further reflection Star Wars sucks hard.

  8. atrophe says:

    I think that the Star Wars background universe is cool, what with the lightsabers and mysticism and everything, its just that no one can tell a decent story taking place in it. The closest exceptions I’ve found were the Clone Wars cartoons and Knights of the Old Republic games; the previous of which was ‘kiddy’ without being juvenile schlock, and the later having better acting and backstory than any SW film, even in its unfinished forms.

Leave a Reply

