Shopping.

Okay so we were given giftcard for the local version of Woodgrove mall here, it’s called Sunridge, and since we’re leaving soon we felt we had to use them today, boxing day. So we spent forever pushing through wall-to-wall people to discover that, much like Woodgrove mall, there was cock-all to buy. The closest I could find that wasn’t just CD’s and DVD’s was a The Warriors McFarlane Toys 12″ figure. But I didn’t buy that and ended up buying a CD(Herbie Hancock’s “Headhunters”)and a DVD (Moz live) at Music World. Seriously, took me forever to find anything worth buying in that place. Then when I got to the till, I found out there was a sale on (boxing day, duh)so I didn’t even use up the whole gift card. So I grabbed that new Bob Mould I didn’t want to pay real money for. It was a soul-withering experience.

But here’s the kicker, tonight I was given another giftcard for that same mall. I guess I’ll have to go back tomorrow…

Went to Recordland this afternoon and, if you know Recordland, I had the “aisle-battle” with the pork-smoker who works there filing records. He was not really that nice to a guy who had a dozen 80’s goth records in his hands (me) that he really should have been nicer to considering how few people seem to be picking up Bolshoi EPs (judging by the ten year old price stickers on them). He was ridiculous. Anyway, the owner at the check out complimented me on my “crate-digging” abilities noting that he would have priced the records higher if they’d come in recently. Shows to go you, all record store owners are the same.

More family gatherings tonight. More tomorrow morning.

18 Responses to Shopping.

  1. newcleus says:

    Most record store clerks tend towards the reprobate spectrum – present (and F.R.) company excluded of course.

  2. newcleus says:

    Most record store clerks tend towards the reprobate spectrum – present (and F.R.) company excluded of course.

  3. i got stuck in the aisles once at recordland. made the mistake of entering it on a stifling mid-july afternoon. also made the mistake of buying a style council record.

  4. i got stuck in the aisles once at recordland. made the mistake of entering it on a stifling mid-july afternoon. also made the mistake of buying a style council record.

  5. newcleus says:

    Hey! The Style Council had some good stuff!

  6. i guess i got hung up on how bad that blue record was.

  7. mrdapper says:

    I am no longer a record store clerk.

  8. mrdapper says:

    As good as The Jam were is inversley how horrible Style Council were.

  9. newcleus says:

    This is correct – just trying to say that you didn’t lean towards the reprobate archetype.

  10. ninjaj says:

    I love Recordland. Though, it smells quite funny.

  11. ninjaj says:

    I love Recordland. Though, it smells quite funny.

  12. mrdapper says:

    smells like music. music from people’s basements.

Leave a Reply

