No pain, no gain.

I chose my dentist based on nationality. Nepal. Any dude from such a spiritual land has got to have a good attitude towards unnecessary pain and suffering. I suspect, he may just be a dentist though. Anyway, he and his assistant looked at me with disbelief and said, “You’re not in pain? You should be in extreme pain right now. Constantly.” I shrugged and explained I’d dosed myself before calling and making my appointment. “We have to take out this tooth right away. As soon as possible. Very important we get that tooth out right away…. how about next monday? Keep taking your pain killers.”

32 Responses to No pain, no gain.

  1. bickichick says:

    you’re brave

    good call on a Napal dentist.
    I have an appt on next friday- eeek. for a check.

    dentits scare me. shudder

  2. bickichick says:

    you’re brave

    good call on a Napal dentist.
    I have an appt on next friday- eeek. for a check.

    dentits scare me. shudder

  3. atrophe says:

    The most ruthless dentist I’d ever heard of was chinese, which kind of makes sense too. When I used to go to Fort Langley as a kid they always showed the frontier dentist’s weapon of choice; gigantic iron pliers.

    • mrdapper says:

      i always loved that sketchy house on the way to jinglepot pub that had the black and white sign in the window that read: “charlie wong dental mechanic” (it may not have been “charlie wong” but something like that.) always wondered who the hell would respond to such a sign and what a dental mechanic actually is. meant to take a picture, think the sign is gone now.

  4. atrophe says:

    The most ruthless dentist I’d ever heard of was chinese, which kind of makes sense too. When I used to go to Fort Langley as a kid they always showed the frontier dentist’s weapon of choice; gigantic iron pliers.

  5. mrdapper says:

    i always loved that sketchy house on the way to jinglepot pub that had the black and white sign in the window that read: “charlie wong dental mechanic” (it may not have been “charlie wong” but something like that.) always wondered who the hell would respond to such a sign and what a dental mechanic actually is. meant to take a picture, think the sign is gone now.

  6. mrdapper says:

    Re: you’re brave

    dentists don’t scare me as much as dentists dressed like clowns.

  7. mrdapper says:

    m&m’s. cause tooth decay.

  8. chairmanv says:

    while living in nepal, i made frequent visits to the doctors and i can honestly say that i’ve never met one single doctor there that caused me any discomfort. I’m sure you’ll do fine. y’see, this one doctor even cut the corners of a pack of pills for me, so that the sharp corners of the package wouldn’t cut my fingers. they pay attention to the most fine details.

  9. chairmanv says:

    while living in nepal, i made frequent visits to the doctors and i can honestly say that i’ve never met one single doctor there that caused me any discomfort. I’m sure you’ll do fine. y’see, this one doctor even cut the corners of a pack of pills for me, so that the sharp corners of the package wouldn’t cut my fingers. they pay attention to the most fine details.

  10. dorothypoo says:

    i always fall asleep at the dentist. its embarassing.

  11. dorothypoo says:

    i always fall asleep at the dentist. its embarassing.

  12. i hope they gave you a prescription

  13. i hope they gave you a prescription

  14. mrdapper says:

    if they do, how many can i put you down for?

  15. chairmanv says:

    shit! ummm, count me in for five dose if you can.

    yeah, i like inviting myself to sketchy shit like this.

  16. aporia says:

    i’m pretty sure he was joking.

  17. mrdapper says:

    i dunno… with such a response i may have found that high paying job my dad’s been hassling me about!

  18. that’s ok, anyway you need the painkillers for yourself. i’ll look into getting my own prescription for all my cuts

  19. hard labour = prescription

Leave a Reply

